Expectations

Have you ever had this perfect mental image of what something will look like, how a day will turn out, or what someone will say, only to have that perfect image crushed in the real world? When I was in high school and the song Just The Way You Are by Bruno Mars was popular, all I wanted at my high school dance was for my date to look at me/sing to me/acknowledge me while that song was playing. The moment came; we were dancing together surrounded by the other couples in our friend group, the song came on, and I waited for that perfect moment to come true. Next thing I know, my date is going on and on about how annoying and overplayed that song is. Dream crushed.

Of course that’s a tiny example, but in the big scheme of things, expectations can really mess with our lives. Sometimes we set the bar at unattainable heights, setting ourselves up for disappointment.

Check out these pictures.

download

st-thomas-us-virgin-islands-vacation-specials

sttuv_main01

That right there is my idea of paradise. Bright blue water, white sandy beaches, hillside resorts, and palm trees as far as the eye can see. I am fortunate enough to get the opportunity to visit this little slice of paradise and I’m deliberately being cautiously optimistic with my expectations.

Ideally, my flights will all be on time, my luggage will not get lost, my relatives will all arrive safely, our condo will be in pristine condition, the beach won’t be too crowded, the forecast will be free of precipitation, the food will be tasty, and the memories will be unforgettable.

There’s no harm in hoping for the best, but if I go into this trip expecting every detail to go exactly as planned, chances are I’m going to experience a  bit of disappointment.

Just thinking about this trip puts a huge grin on my face.

Maybe I’ll go kayaking in this clear kayak

download (1)

or go ziplining at a place with a breathtaking view

CAR_LabadeeZipline_enCA

or swim in the infinity pool, or spend a day at the spa. The possibilities are endless and the list keeps growing in my mind! I want to see and do as much as possible during my stay in paradise. I want to make the most of this once in a lifetime opportunity.

So where are my expectations now? I’m expecting a typical travel experience with minor hiccups, a nice condo, a view that a photograph can’t do justice, and quality time spent with family. Anything beyond that is just bonus!

-V

To be continued in next week’s post on realities.

One thought on “Expectations

Leave a Reply

