Lonely in a crowd

Loneliness is weird.

I have 7 best friends, about 20 coworkers, 600 neighbors in my apartment complex, and 35,000 classmates at my university yet somehow I find the feeling of loneliness to be inescapable. If it chooses not to follow me around some days, it’s always waiting for me when I get home.

It’s easy to see how these feelings of isolation are entirely my fault. My only face-to-face human interaction today was when I answered the door for the pizza delivery guy. I talked with my parents on the phone after the Browns game, and I chatted with some friends with groupme and snapchat, but does that even count? I know I have family and friends all across the country that love me unconditionally, but proximity is the culprit in the case of my loneliness.

-Victoria

Leave a Reply

